SSL Labs ScoreSecurityHeaders.io Score

There is no cost to join RicheyWeb, and membership is a requirement to submit bug reports and participate in the support forums.

× Extension Discussions

Crapped on by Joomla...

More
2 months 1 day ago #2550 by michael
michael created the topic: Crapped on by Joomla...
The Joomla ecosystem is sick. The JED is corrupt. Joomla...

The Joomla ecosystem is sick. The JED is corrupt. Joomla leadership has turned to censorship.

I've been writing Joomla extensions for more than 10 years. Much of the time, I get paid to write custom extensions and when my a customer chooses a pricing model that leaves me the rights to the extension, I release for free or as a paid extension (about 10% choose that pricing option). I have over 50 extensions in the JED. My entire business revolves around Joomla and writing custom extensions.

I often release extensions free, or as paid with a free (less functional) version. This gives me the opportunity to get my name out there and gives potential customers the opportunity to experience my extensions, which often leads to contract work writing custom extensions.

Joomla has, on multiple occasions, incorporated my ideas directly into the Joomla core. Here are a few examples:

Extension RicheyWeb Release Added to Joomla More Functionality?
System - Content Security Policy 2018-04-27 4.0 on 2018-06-20 less
System - Clean Response 2010-05-29 3.1.4 on 2013-06-27 less
DomainRestriction 2011-05-17 3.9 on 2018-08-08 less
Fields - Subform 2017-12-08 3.10-dev (pending) less
EU e-Privacy Directive 2012-06-11 3.9 on 2018-08-27 less
There are more, I just need to find them